Gondwana University and Other Exam News

UP CM List: The fourth-largest and most populous state in India is Uttar Pradesh. In Uttar Pradesh, there are 404 members of the Vidhan Sabha, of which 403 are elected and 1 is nominated, and 100 members of the Vidhan Parishad. The Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh is the head of the State’s Vidhan Sabha’s Member of the Legislative Assembly.  A ruling party needs the majority of seats in order to nominate a candidate for the CM position, which is necessary to become the CM. In Uttar Pradesh, there are currently 403 Vidhan Sabha seats in total, and 202 votes are needed to form a government.

Yogi Adityanath, a member of the Bhartiya Janata Party, was elected chief minister of Uttar Pradesh for the second time in 2022 after first being elected in 2017 for the first time.

Checkout the TNEA Previous Year Cut off here!

UP 2017 Assembly Elections

In the 2017 assembly elections, Yogi Adityanath became the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh under the leadership of the Bharatiya Janata Party, whose party won 317 seats out of a total of 404 assembly seats.If we’re talking about Uttar Pradesh, it’s the biggest state in India. It is crucial for each state to have an effective Chief Minister who would work for the welfare of the state and lead it to advancement.  At the moment, Yogi Adityanath is the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh. He began serving in that position in 2017. Being the Chief Minister of any state has a lot of responsibility, which it is the obligation of a Chief Minister to fulfill successfully. Today, we’re going to give you a list of the Chief Ministers of Uttar Pradesh. The list of all the Chief Ministers who currently reside in Uttar Pradesh is provided in the article below.

List of Chief Ministers of Uttar Pradesh

NameHeadquarters/OfficePolitical Party
Gobind Ballabh Panth26th January 1950 to 27th December 1954Indian National Congress
Sampoornanand28th December 1954 to 6th December 1960Indian National Congress
Chandrabhanu Gupta7th December 1960 to 1st October 1963Indian National Congress
Sucheta Kripalani2nd October 1963 to 13th March 1967Indian National Congress
Chandrabhanu Gupta14th March 1967 to 2nd April 1967Indian National Congress
Chowdhury Charan Singh3rd April 1967 to 25th Feb 1968Bhartiya Kranti Dal
President’s Rule25th February 1968 to 26th February 1969—-
Chandrabhanu Gupta26th February 1969 to 17th February 1970Indian National Congress
Chowdhury Charan Singh18th February 1970 to 1st October 1970Bhartiya Kranti Dal
President’s Rule1st October 1970 to 18th October 1970—-
Tribhuvana Narayana Singh18th October 1970 to 3rd April 1971Indian National Congress
Kamlapati Tripathi4th April 1971 to 12th June 1973Indian National Congress
President’s Rule12th June 1973 to 8th November 1973—-
Hemvatinandan Bahuguna9th November 1973 to 29th November 1975Indian National Congress
President’s Rule30th November 1975 to 21st January 1976—-
Narayan Dutt Tiwari22nd January 1976 to 30th April 1977Indian National Congress
President’s Rule1st May 1977 to 23rd June 1977—-
Ram Naresh Yadav23rd June 1977 to 27th February 1979Janta Party
Banarasi Das28th February 1979 to 17th February 1980Janta Party
President’s Rule17th February 1980 to 9th June 1980—-
Vishwanath Pratap Singh9th June 1980 to 18th July 1982Indian National Congress
Shripati Mishra19th July 1982 to 2nd August 1984Indian National Congress
Narayan Dutt Tiwari3rd August 1984 to 24th September 1985Indian National Congress
Veer Bahadur Singh24th September 1985 to 24th June 1988Indian National Congress
Narayan Dutt Tiwari25th June 1988 to 5th December 1989Indian National Congress
Mulayam Singh Yadav5th December 1989 to 24th June 1991Janta Dal
Kalyan Singh24th June 1991 to 6th December 1992Bhartiya Janta Party
President’s Rule6th December 1992 to 4th December 1993—-
Mulayam Singh Yadav4th December 1993 to 3rd June 1995Samajwadi Party
Mayawati3rd June 1995 to 18th October 1995Bahujan Samaj Party
President’s Rule18th October 1995 to 21st March 1997—-
Mayawati21st March 1997 to 21st September 1997Bahujan Samaj Party
Kalyan Singh21st September 1997 to 12th September 1999Bhartiya Janta party
Ramprakash Gupt12th November 1999 to 28th October 2000Bhartiya Janta party
Rajnath Singh28th October 2000 to 8th March 2002Bhartiya Janta Party
President’s Rule8th March 2002 to 3rd May 2002—-
Mayawati3rd May 2002 to 29th August 2003Bahujan Samaj Party
Mulayam Singh Yadav29th August 2003 to 13th May 2007Samajwadi Party
Mayawati13th May 2007 to 7th March 2012Bahujan Samaj Party
Akhilesh Yadav15th March 2012 to 11 March 2017Samajwadi Party
Yogi AdityanathMarch 19, 2017 – 24 March 202225 March 2022- IncumbentBhartiya Janta PartyPresent

To download the list of Chief Ministers of Uttar Pradesh, click here!

Facts about Uttar Pradesh

  • The state of Uttar Pradesh was established in 1950. In the Indian parliament, the state supplies 31 members in the Rajya Sabha and 80 seats in the Lok Sabha. Lucknow serves as the state’s capital, while Kanpur serves as its commercial and industrial hub.
  • Uttar Pradesh was a part of the United Province before to January 26, 1950, and it presently has India’s highest population.
  • The State of Uttar Pradesh is the name given to United Province in the post-independence era.
  • The first Chief Minister of the State of Uttar Pradesh was appointed on January 26, 1950 by Shri Gobind Ballabh Pant, the president of the United Province.

Read about Which Yoga Teacher Won All Three Padma Awards, here!

FAQs on UP CM List

Who served as Uttar Pradesh’s first Chief Minister?

The first chief minister of Uttar Pradesh was Govind Ballabh Pant. He was an Indian National Congress member.

Who was Uttar Pradesh’s first female chief minister?

The first female chief minister of  Uttar Pradesh was Sucheta Kriplani Mendhwal, a member of the Indian National Congress party who took power on October 2, 1963.

How many assembly seats are there in Uttar Pradesh?

There are total 404 assembly seats in Uttar Pradesh.

Who is the Chief Minister of UP at the moment?

The current chief minister of Uttar Pradesh is Yogi Adityanath, a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party.

How can I become CM in India?

The Chief Minister is elected by a majority vote in the State Legislative Assembly. It is established procedurally by a vote of confidence in the Legislative Assembly, as suggested by the Governor of the State who is the appointing authority. They are elected for five years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *