Gondwana University and Other Exam News

The FIFA World Cup is considered one of the most-watched International football tournaments since 1930. From 1930- 2018, the tournament was held every four years .1942 and 1946 editions were cancelled due to World War II.  The 22nd edition of the FIFA World Cup is being held in Qatar from 20th November to 18th December 2022. The football World Cup will be held in the Arab country for the first time. 32 teams will be participating to win the championship. Football fans all around the world are eagerly waiting to watch their favourite teams and fans in action. The FIFA World Cup Winners List will let people learn about the winners and runner-ups of the tournament. To know how many teams have won the FIFA World Cup all these years in the Tournament’s history read this article. 

FIFA World Cup Winners List 1930 to 2022

The FIFA World Cup Winners List is given below in a tabular form.

Year Winner Runner upHost Country
1954West GermanyHungarySwitzerland
1966EnglandWest GermanyEngland
1974West GermanyNetherlandsWest Germany
1982ItalyWest GermanySpain
1986ArgentinaWest GermanyMexico
1990West GermanyArgentinaItaly
2002BrazilGermanySouth Korea / Japan
2010SpainNetherlandsSouth africa

You can also view the FIFA World Cup Winners List 1930 to 2022 PDF.

FIFA World Cup 1930 Winner

In 1930, Uruguay won the First FIFA World Cup. The trophy was received by the President of the Uruguay Football association and it was renamed as Jules Rimet trophy as it was received from Rimet. To remember the day of Uruguay victory, July 31st is considered as a National Holiday.

FIFA World Cup 1934 Winner

Czechoslovakia defeated Italy with a final score of 2-1. They won the championship in 1934. Czechoslovakia grabbed the lead in the second quarter, but Italy tied the game, forcing added time to decide the result.

FIFA World Cup 1938 Winner

In 1938, Italy playing with Hungary won the game with a score of 4-2. France hosted this tournament. Italian manager at the time, Vittorio Pozzo, remained the only manager who won several World Cups.

FIFA World Cup 1950 Winner

Brazil was shocked as they lost to Uruguay. It was Uruguay’s victory which they won for the second time. Alcides Ghiggia scored a last-second goal by Moacyr Barbosa to give Uruguay a 2-1 lead with just over 11 minutes remaining.

FIFA World Cup 1954 Winner

West Germany battled it out with a victory against Hungary with a score of 3-2. This tournament is called Miracle Of Berne. Though they won the match, later they were pulled with charges of cheating.

FIFA World Cup 1958 Winner

At the age of 17, Pele made his debut at the tournament. His first appearance helped the team with a record of hattrick in the Brazilian semi-finale victory. He helped his team to won against Sweden.

FIFA World Cup 1962 Winner

Brazil defeated Czechoslovakia with a score of 3-1. The match took place in Chile. They added their name to the FIFA World Cup Winners List.

FIFA World Cup 1966 Winner

England won the FIFA World Cup for the first time since 1930. Hosting the tournament, England won the title in 1966 with a score 4-2.

FIFA World Cup 1970 Winner

Brazil won the 1970 World Cup by beating Italy 4-1 in the world cup final match. Brazil won the FIFA World Cup for the fourth time in the tournament’s history since 1930.

FIFA World Cup 1974 Winner

West Germany defeated the Netherlands in 1974. They previously won the championship in 1954.

FIFA World Cup 1978 Winner

Argentina won the 1978 FIFA World Cup by defeating Netherlands 3-1 in the championship match. Being a hosting country, they saw their first victory.

FIFA World Cup 1982 Winner

Italy built a 3-0 advantage in the FIFA final and won a 3-1 victory over West Germany. It was the Third World Cup of Italy and the first since 1938.

FIFA World Cup 1986 Winner

The captain scored both goals in the 2-0 semifinal victory over Belgium, and Argentina killed the second World Cup victory with the edge over West Germany 3-2.

FIFA World Cup 1990 Winner

In 1990, West Germany won with flying colors against Argentina. They made it enjoyable throughout the knockout stage.

FIFA World Cup 1994 Winner

The Brazilian Country won the FIFA World Cup Finale by defeating Italy which was held in the United States. Brazil was a team of 24 players when they entered the tournament in 1994.

FIFA World Cup 1998 Winner

Brazil entered the Finale of 1998 but lost to France with a score of 3-0. Being a hosting country, France won the Championship.

FIFA World Cup 2002 Winner

After four years, Brazil again proved by showing their victory. They won their fifth World Cup defeating Germany.

FIFA World Cup 2006 Winner

Famous for Zinedine Zidane’s head-porting incident, the 2006 final featured the second shootout in World Cup definitive history. Italy gets a 5-3 advantage in a penalty for French down and lifting the trophy.

FIFA World Cup 2010 Winner

Spain won against Netherlands as they got a yellow card in extra time. The final score was 1-1 (5-3). The tournament was held in South Africa.

FIFA World Cup 2014 Winner

Brazil (1994) and Italy (2006) both took a range of titles after that, and Germany reclaimed its position in the world of football after 24 years in 2014.

FIFA World Cup 2018 Winner

In 2018, France defeating Croatia was one of the most exciting matches ever. France won the title for the second time in the history of the FIFA Football tournament.

FIFA World Cup Winners List: FAQS

Who has won five medals in the FIFA World Cup?

   Brazil has won five medals in the FIFA World Cup.

How many teams have won the FIFA World Cup the most?

   9 teams have won the FIFA World Cup the most.

Who won against Argentina in the FIFA World Cup 1990?

   West Germany won against Argentina in the FIFA World Cup in 1990.

When was the FIFA First World Cup held?

  FIFA’s first World Cup was held in 1930.

Who has won two medals in the FIFA World Cup?

   Uruguay and Argentina have won the FIFA World Cup two times.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *