Gondwana University and Other Exam News

ICC Test Championship Winners List With Captain 2023: Australia beat India by 209 runs to win its maiden ICC World Test Championship title at the Kennington Oval in London. ICC unveiled a new programme and points structure for the latest season. New Zealand won the World Test Championship in the previous competition, which took place between 2019 and 21. They defeated India by an 8-wicket margin. The world’s top test cricket teams compete in the ICC World Test Championship for the chance to take home the championship trophy. Here, we’ve provided information on all of the test cricket tournament’s former champions.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) hosts the ICC World Test Championship, an international cricket tournament for the eleven countries that play test cricket. The grading system for this competition is based on all Test games played throughout the cricket season. In This article we will know about the ICC Test Championship Winners List With Captain.

WTC Final Ind vs Aus Match Prediction

ICC Test Championship Winners List With Captain: Important Information

  • The highest number of points is awarded for winning a Test Championship final.
  • A squad receives points for victories. The team gets fewer points if it loses.
  • In the event of a tie, the team with the lower rating will be given the advantage over the team with the higher rating.
  • The ICC Chief awards the World Test Championship champion with the ICC Test Championship mace and a $1 million cash prize.
  • New Zealand has dominated as the World Test Championship Champion after taking home the trophy in the most recent competition held between 2019 and 21.

Teams Competing In The World Test Championship

The World Test Championship offers nine of the greatest cricket teams in the world the chance to compete. The nine participants in ICC WTC are:

  • Australia
  • Bangladesh
  • England
  • India
  • New Zealand
  • Pakistan
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • West Indies

ICC Test Championship Winners List With Captain 2023

The victors of every Test Championship tournament, from the inaugural event held in 2019–21 to the current tournament in 2021/23, are listed here. Below is the ICC Test Championship Winners List With Captain elaborated in a table:

2001-02AustraliaAC Gilchrist
2002-03AustraliaAC Gilchrist
2003-04AustraliaAC Gilchrist
2004-05AustraliaAC Gilchrist
2005-06AustraliaRT Ponting
2006-07AustraliaRT Ponting
2007-08AustraliaRT Ponting
2008-09AustraliaRT Ponting
2009-10IndiaMahendra Singh Dhoni
2010-11IndiaMahendra Singh Dhoni
2011-12EnglandAlastair Cook
2012-13South AfricaGraeme Smith
2013-14South AfricaGraeme Smith
2014-15South AfricaGraeme Smith
2015-16AustraliaSPD Smith
2016-17IndiaVirat Kohli
2017-18IndiaVirat Kohli
2018-19IndiaVirat Kohli
2019-21New ZealandTim Southee
2021-23AustraliaPat Cummins

World Test Championship Ranking (Latest)

The International Cricket Council (ICC) decided that the World Test Championship would award the same number of points from each series, regardless of how many Tests were played, in order to avoid penalising nations that played less Tests. Instead of a series, points are awarded depending on a team’s performance in a Test. Points are distributed equally between competing teams in “dead rubber” matches, where the outcome of a series match has already been decided.

The current tournament’s competing teams’ ICC Test Championship Rankings are available here. Get more information on the World Test Championship Ranking, including the number of games each side has played, won, and lost, here:

TeamSeries PlayedWonLostDrawPointsPCT (%)
Sri Lanka55416453.33
South Africa67618852.38
West Indies64625437.5
New Zealand52633627.27

ICC Test Championship Winners List With Captain: FAQs

Who currently holds the World Test Championship lead?

With 136 points, Australia is in the lead in the World Test Championship for 2021–2023. With 123 points, India is not far behind in second place, and Sri Lanka is currently in third place with 64 points. 

How many times India has won the World Test Championship?

India has won the World Test Championship five times in total. New Zealand won the most recent World Test Championship, which was held in 2019–21. Given that it is now in second place with a score of 99 in the World Test Championship 2021/23, India has a good chance of winning.

Who won the 2019–21 World Test Championship?

New Zealand won the World Test Championship during the 2019–21 season. It rained heavily while New Zealand and India were playing. Nonetheless, New Zealand won the ICC World Test Championship trophy for the 2019–21 season with an eight wicket victory over India.

How many teams are participating in the ICC Test Championship 2021-23?

9 teams are participating in the  ICC Test Championship 2021-23.

How much prize money will be given to the winners of ICC Test Champions 2021-23?

Prize money worth $1 million will be given to the winners of ICC Test Champions 2021-23. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *