Gondwana University and Other Exam News

The Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award is given by the Indian government and the Department of Sport to those sportspersons who have excelled in their sports. This is the highest award in the field of sports that every sportsperson dreams of achieving at some point in their career. Last year, President of India, Mr. Ram Nath Kovind presented 12 athletes with the coveted Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award for their contributions to India’s glory. Go through the entire post to know about the major dhyan chand khel ratna award 2022 winners list and enhance your general knowledge.

Khel Ratna Award 2022 – Highlights

Now let us read about the major dhyan chand khel ratna award 2022 winner list in this section. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is the highest sports honor bestowed by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports for a sportsperson’s extraordinary and most remarkable achievement over a four-year period. Viswanathan Anand, a chess superstar, was the first to receive the award. In 2016, the Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement in Sports and Games Award was established. The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award established in 1991 was renamed Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award by the Indian government in 2021. This happened just hours after the Indian men’s hockey team won bronze in the Tokyo Olympics, and a day after the women’s team placed fourth. A medal, a certificate, and a cash prize of Rs 25 lakh are included in the award. The President of India bestows the coveted Major Dhyan Chand Award on outstanding performers from various sports. The award is given out once a year to motivate athletes to achieve even greater accomplishment. The winners in each discipline are determined by a twelve-member selection committee appointed by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports.

Read about the President Elections in India

Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award 2022 Winners List – Who was Major Dhyan Chand?

Major Dhyan Chand, a field hockey player known as The Wizard, played international hockey from 1926 until 1949, scoring over 400 goals in the process. Dhyan Chand, an Allahabad native, was a member of the Olympic gold-medal winning teams in 1928, 1932, and 1936. Apart from the Khel Ratna, the Dhyan Chand Award is the country’s highest honor for lifetime achievement in sports. It was established in 2002. Every year 29th August, India celebrates National Sports Day to commemorate the birth of Major Dhyan Chand, who was born on that date in 1905. Since August 6, 2021, the award has been named after Major Dhyan Chand (1905–79), an Indian field hockey player widely recognised as one of the best field hockey players of all time, with over 1000 goals scored over a 20-year career from 1926 to 1948.

Know more about State Protected Monuments in India 

Khel Ratna Award 2022 – List of Winners

The major dhyan chand khel ratna award 2022 winner list is as follow –

SportName of the Winner
AthleticsNeeraj Chopra
Wrestling (Freestyle)Ravi Kumar Dahiya
BoxingLovlina Borgohain
HockeyP. R. Sreejesh & Manpreet Singh
Para ShootingAvani Lekhara & Manish Narwal
Para AthleticsSumit Antil
CricketMithali Raj
FootballSunil Chhetri
Para BadmintonKrishna Nagar & Pramod Bhagat

Read more about Mithali Raj – The World Record Breaker

What was the former name of Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award ?

Its name was Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award.

Which award is considered to be the highest award in sports?

Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna is known to be the highest sports award.

How much cash is awarded to Maj. Dhyan Chand Awardees?

Earlier the awardees received 7.5 lakhs but now the Government of India has increased this to 25 lakhs.

Who won the Khel Ratna Award for the first time ever in India?

Vishwanath Anand, he chess champion was the first person to be awarded by the Indian govt. with Khel Ratna. 

When did the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award begin?

The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awards were established in 1991. This is India’s most prestigious sporting honor.