Gondwana University and Other Exam News

Nobel Laureates In Physics 2022: The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences annually bestows the Nobel Prize in Physics on the physicists who have made the most remarkable contributions to humanity. It is one of the five Nobel Prizes—the others being the Nobel Prize in Chemistry, Nobel Prize in Literature, Nobel Prize for Peace, and Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine—that Alfred Nobel created in his will and which have been given out annually since 1901. The first prize in the Nobel Prize ceremony is often given to physics. Between 1901 and 2021, 219 Nobel Laureates received the Physics Nobel Prize, which was given out 115 times. John Bardeen is the only laureate to receive the Nobel Prize in Physics twice, in 1956 and 1972. This indicates that a number of 218 people have won the Physics Nobel Prize.

Check Nobel prize 2022 winner list here!

Check the Indian Nobel laureates list here!

Nomination and Selection of Nobel Laureates 

All eligible and qualified candidates get confidential nomination forms from the Nobel Committee for Physics.

Qualified Nominators

By law, the following people have the privilege of submitting nominations for the Nobel Prize in Physics:

  • The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences’s Swedish and international members;
  • Members of the Nobel Committee for Physics;
  • Physics Nobel laureates
  • Tenured professors of physical sciences at universities and technical institutes in Sweden, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, and Norway, as well as at Stockholm’s Karolinska Institutet;
  • Holders of similar chairs in at least six universities or college-level institutions (there are typically hundreds of universities), chosen by the Academy of Sciences to ensure an appropriate distribution across the many nations and their educational institutions; and
  • Other researchers from whom the Academy might decide to request applications.

Selection Process

The selection of the physics Nobel Prize winners is carried out by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.The Nobel Committee for Physics is a working group that the Academy appoints. It screens nominations and suggests the eventual winners. Although the committee’s official membership is five voting members, voting adjunct members have been a part of the committee for many years. The Academy’s Physics Class discusses the proposal from the Committee in a larger group and has the option of making changes or submitting a new proposal. At the last Academy meeting, further recommendations can be brought forth. Although it is theoretically conceivable to request that no Prize be awarded this year, this is a decision that is not frequently made.

Nobel Laureates in Physics 2022

Alain Aspect (France), John F. Clauser (USA), and Anton Zeilinger (Austria) received the Nobel Prize in Physics 2022 for their contributions to quantum mechanics, according to a statement from the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. For “experiments with entangled photons, establishing the violation of Bell inequalities, and pioneering quantum information science,” the 2022 Nobel Prize in Physics has been given.

John Clauser, the recipient of the Nobel Prize this year, created a device that sent two entangled photons at once in the direction of a filter that measured their polarization. The outcome was in line with quantum mechanical predictions and clearly violated a Bell inequality.

Alain Aspect created a configuration to plug a significant gap. After an entangled pair had left its source, he was able to change the measurement settings, ensuring that the settings in place at the time the pair was released had no bearing on the outcome.
The 2022 Physics Nobel Laureate Anton Zeilinger studied entangled quantum states. His research team has proven the existence of a phenomena known as quantum teleportation, which enables the remote transfer of a quantum state from one particle to another.

Nobel Laureates in Physics 2021

Scientists from Japan, Germany, and Italy have shared the Nobel Prize in physics. The 2021 Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded to scientists Giorgio Parisi, Klaus Hasselmann, and Syukuro Manabe for their “groundbreaking contributions to our knowledge of complicated physical systems.”

Manabe, a Japanese American climatologist, and Hasselmann, a German oceanographer, share one-half of the Nobel Prize in Physics “for the physical modeling of Earth’s climate, measuring variability, and accurately projecting global warming.” An Italian theoretical physicist, Parisi, receives the remaining 50% of the prize “for the revelation of the interplay of disorder and fluctuations in physical systems from atomic to planetary scales.” Their combined work employs straightforward theories to describe how unpredictable, disorganized, and complicated phenomena emerge and change through time.

The honorable prize includes a gold medal and 10 million Swedish kronor, or more than $1.14 million. The award’s founder, Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel, who passed away in 1895, left a bequest that provides the prize money.

FAQs on Nobel Laureates in Physics 

Who is qualified to receive the Physics Nobel Prize?

The individuals recommended by competent individuals who have been invited by the Nobel Committee to submit names for consideration are eligible for the Physics Prize. Nobody may submit their own nomination.

When and how was the Nobel Prize founded?

On November 27, 1895, Swedish physicist Alfred Nobel made his last will and testament, designating the majority of his wealth to awards for peace, literature, physiology or medicine, physics, and chemistry.

How many physicists have won the Nobel Prize?

Between 1901 and 2021, 219 Nobel Prize laureates received the Physics Nobel Prize, which was given out 115 times.

Are the nominations publicly disclosed?

According to the Nobel Foundation’s bylaws, information about nominations cannot be disclosed for 50 years, either publicly or privately. The restriction applies to the nominees and nominators, as well as to inquiries and assessments associated with awarding prizes.

Which nation has the most recipients of the Nobel Prize?

Even though the Nobel Prize is a worldwide honor, just slightly more than half of recipients are from Europe. As of 2020, the United States had the most Nobel laureates (281).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *