Gondwana University and Other Exam News

One of the most famous prizes in the world, the Nobel Prize, is given in six different categories: physics, chemistry, literature, economic sciences, physiology or medicine, and peace. The winners—known as laureates—receive a gold medal, a certificate, and 10 million Swedish Kronor in prize money. Six Nobel Prizes are given out each year in October by committees in Sweden and Norway. Each prize honors an individual or group for making a significant contribution to a particular discipline.

Prizes are awarded in the fields of physiology, medicine, chemistry, economic science, literature, and nonviolent conflict resolution. Each reward is worth 10 million Swedish krona, or roughly $1.1 million, and winners also receive a certificate and a medal. If there are many winners, the prize money is divided.

Check the Indian Nobel laureates list here!

History of Nobel Prize 

Alfred Nobel, a Swedish chemist, engineer, and industrialist best known for developing dynamite, passed away in 1896. He stipulated in his last will and testament, which was written before he passed away in 1895, that all of his property and wealth would be used to establish the five prizes in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature, economics, and peace, which came to be known as the Nobel Prizes. The Alfred Nobel bequest, which funded the prize, provided the funding for this.

  • Surprisingly, an obituary for Alfred Nobel, who was still alive at the time, was published in a French newspaper in 1888 under the headline “The Merchant Of Death Is Dead.”
  • He changed his own will after being frightened by reading his obituary in the newspaper, wanting people to remember him for a very long time.
  • Although Alfred Nobel drafted several wills over the course of his life, the final one, which was signed at the Swedish-Norwegian Club in Paris, was written just a year before his passing in 1895, as we had previously mentioned.
  • The Norwegian Storting did not accept the will until 1897. In order to manage his assets and plan the awarding of the Nobel Prizes, Ragnar Sohlman and Rudolf Lilljequist, the executors of this will, established the Nobel Foundation.
  • Since 1946, the foundation has been exempt from all taxes in Sweden, and since 1953, it has been exempt from investment taxes in the US.

Check the list of University Of Kalyani Notable Alumni here!

Nobel Prize 2022 Winners List

It’s once again time for the Nobel Prizes. Committees in Sweden and Norway select winners for a number of awards in the sciences, literature, economics, and peace activism each October. Lets take a look at the Nobel prize winners of 2022 here:

Nobel prize CategoryNobel Prize Winners NameAchievements
Economic SciencesBen Bernanke, Douglas Diamond, and Philip DybvigFor research on Banks and Financial crises
PeaceAles Bialiatski, organization Memorial and organization Center for Civil LibertiesThey have long supported the freedom to challenge the status quo and defend citizens’ basic rights. They have worked extremely hard to gather evidence of power abuse, war crimes, and violations of human rights.
LiteratureAnnie Ernaux“for the courage and clinical acuity with which she uncovers the roots, estrangements and collective restraints of personal memory”.
Physiology and MedicineProfessor Svante PääboThe Swedish biologist Dr. Pääbo won for his research on the genomes of extinct hominins and human evolution. He received the award for his work in recovering genetic material from 40,000-year-old bones, creating a complete genome of the Neanderthals, and creating the discipline of ancient DNA studies.
PhysicsAlain Aspect, John Clauser, and Anton ZeilingerThey shared the Nobel Prize in Physics “for experiments with entangled photons, showing the violation of Bell inequalities and pioneering quantum information science.”
ChemistryCarolyn Bertozzi, Morten Meldal and Barry SharplessThey are renowned for creating bio-orthogonal chemistry and click chemistry.

Check Gujarat University notable alumni here!

Nobel Prize 2021 Winners List

Nobel Prize winnersNobel prize categoryAchievement
David Julius and Ardem PatapoutianPhysiology or medicineThey are recognized for their work on the development of temperature and touch receptors. The two made essential discoveries that sparked vigorous study efforts, which in turn led to a rapid improvement in our knowledge of how our nervous system perceives heat, cold, and mechanical stimuli.
Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann, and Giorgio ParisiPhysicsThree scientists shared the Physics Nobel Prize for their groundbreaking research, which “established the foundation for our understanding of the Earth’s climate and how humans affect it.” To comprehend how Earth’s climate is changing and how human conduct is influencing those changes, it is essential to look at all three of these researchers’ work.
Benjamin List and David W.C. MacMillanChemistryTheir creation of a brand-new tool for building molecules earned them the Nobel Prize in Chemistry. This discovery sparked advancements in medicinal research and reduced the environmental impact of chemistry.
Abdulrazak GurnahLiteratureHis unwavering and sympathetic exploration of colonialism’s impacts and the plight of the refugee in the gap between cultures and continents earned him the Nobel Prize in Literature.
Maria Ressa and Dmitry MuratovPeaceThe Nobel Peace Prize was given for their work defending free speech, which the Nobel Committee deemed essential for democracy and long-lasting peace. The two were honored for “their heroic fight for freedom of expression in the Philippines and Russia,” with the committee noting that their efforts were a part of a more significant effort to defend journalistic freedoms.
David Card, Joshua D. Angrist, and Guido W. Imbens Economic SciencesUsing unexpected experiments to investigate economic issues, such as whether raising the minimum wage results in job losses, is Mr. Card’s area of expertise. In order to test essential theories, such as how more schooling affects incomes, Mr. Angrist and Mr. Imbens have created research methods that enable economists to use actual scenarios.

FAQs on Nobel Prize 2022 Winners List

Who received India’s first Nobel Prize?

In 1913, Rabindranath Tagore received the honor of both being an Asian and an Indian citizen. The list of honorees includes only one woman, Mother Teresa.

Who has won the Nobel Prize at the youngest age?

The youngest recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize in history is Malala Yousafzai.

Who is the only recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize who turned it down?

Le Duc Tho turned down the Nobel Peace Prize in 1973

What is the value of the Nobel Prize?

The Nobel Prize was estimated to be valued at approximately 10 million Swedish kronor, or roughly ten crores Indian rupees, in 2021. Only a tiny number of laureates have received the prize with rising value throughout the years, and only in the last three decades.

Can the Nobel Prize be awarded posthumously?

On December 10, 1901, the inaugural Nobel Prize was given. Despite the fact that Nobel Prizes are never given posthumously (after the recipient has passed away), they are given in cases where the recipient is chosen but passes away before receiving the honor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *