Gondwana University and Other Exam News

Nobel Peace Prize 2022: Alfred Nobel displayed a strong interest in social concerns and was engaged in the peace movement. His friendship with Bertha von Suttner, a pioneer in the European peace movement who went on to win the Nobel Peace Prize, affected his outlook on peace. The fifth and final prize area specified in Alfred Nobel’s will was peace. A committee chosen by the Norwegian Parliament bestows the Nobel Peace Prize.

Perhaps the highest-regarded award in the world is the Nobel Peace Prize. The Norwegian Nobel Committee bestows it annually in recognition of an individual’s or an organization’s efforts and deeds that advance peace. Despite the fact that the committee is independent, the award inevitably has political ramifications and, as a result, is frequently the subject of debate about both the particular laureates and the selection committee’s interpretation of Alfred Nobel’s will.

Check Nobel Laureates in Literature 2022 here!

Check Nobel Lauraetes in Chemistry 2022 here!

Nobel Peace Prize 2022

Ales Bialiatski, a Belarusian advocate for human rights, Memorial, a Russian organization for human rights, and Center for Civil Liberties, a Ukrainian organization for human rights, have been given the 2022 Nobel Peace Prize by the Norwegian Nobel Committee. This year’s Nobel Peace Prize laureates have revived and honored Alfred Nobel’s goal of peace and fraternity between nations, which is most needed in the modern world. They have done this through their constant work supporting humanist values, anti-militarism, and legal principles. The Centre for Civil Liberties was established with the goal of improving democracy and human rights in Ukraine, and it was given the 2022 Nobel Peace Prize. It has acted to support Ukrainian civil society and put pressure on the government to turn Ukraine into a functioning democracy.

Check the Indian Nobel laureates list here!

Nobel Peace Prize 2021

The Norwegian Nobel Committee decided to honour Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov with the Nobel Peace Prize in 2021 for their work defending free speech, which is necessary for democracy and long-lasting peace. Ms. Ressa and Mr. Muratov were awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in recognition of their valiant struggles for freedom of speech in the Philippines and Russia. At the same time, they stand in solidarity with all journalists who defend this ideal in a world where press freedom and democracy are increasingly threatened. In her native Philippines, Maria Ressa uses her right to free speech to expose the abuse of authority, the use of violence, and the rise of authoritarianism. While Dmitry Andreyevich Muratov has spent decades fighting for the right of free expression in Russia in the face of increasingly difficult circumstances.

Nomination and Selection of Nobel Peace Prize laureates

Any person who fulfills the nomination requirements may submit a nomination for the Nobel Peace Prize. It is not necessary to provide a letter of invitation. It will take 50 years before the nominees’ identities and other details about their nominations are made public.

Nomination for the Nobel Peace Prize 2022

There are 343 contenders for the 2022 Nobel Peace Prize, of whom 251 are people and 92 are organisations. The second-highest number of candidates ever, 343 is more than last year’s (329). In 2016, the current record of 376 contestants was attained. Before 50 years have passed, neither the names of the proposers nor the names of the recipients of the Nobel Peace Prize may be made public.

Process of nomination and selection

The recipients of the Nobel Peace Prize are chosen by the Norwegian Nobel Committee. Any person who is eligible to nominate may submit a nomination for the Nobel Peace Prize.

Qualified Nominators

A nomination is deemed valid by the Nobel Foundation’s statutes if it is made by someone who fits into one of the following categories:

  • Members of sovereign states’ national legislatures and governments (cabinet members/ministers), as well as the present heads of state
  • Members of The Permanent Court of Arbitration and The International Court of Justice in The Hague
  • Members of the International Institute of Law
  • Members of the Women’s Worldwide League for Peace and Freedom’s international board
  • Directors of peace research institutes and foreign policy institutes; university rectors and university directors (or their equivalents); university professors, professors emeriti, and associate professors of history, social sciences, law, philosophy, and theology.
  • Individuals who have received the Nobel Peace Prize
  • Members of organizations whose major boards of directors, or their equivalents, have received the Nobel Peace Prize.

FAQs on Nobel Peace Prize

When was the first Nobel Peace Prize given out?

The first Nobel peace prize was given in 1901. Henry Dunant of Switzerland who founded the Red Cross, and Frédéric Passy, a French lawmaker and peace activist, shared the honor.

Who makes the decisions regarding which people or groups receive the Nobel Peace Prize?

The Norwegian Nobel Committee, a five-person autonomous body chosen by the Norwegian Parliament, bestows the Nobel Peace Prize.

Who has received three Nobel Prizes?

The International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC), which has its headquarters in Switzerland, is the only person or organization to have won the Nobel Peace Prize three times, in 1917, 1944, and 1963.

How are the recipients for Nobel peace prize chosen?

The recipients of the Nobel Peace Prize are chosen by the Norwegian Nobel Committee. Any person who is eligible to nominate may submit a nomination for the Nobel Peace Prize.

Who has been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize 2022?

The Nobel Peace Prize 2022 has been awarded to Ales Bialiatski, a Belarusian advocate for human rights.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *