Gondwana University and Other Exam News

The dates for the Presidential Election in India in 2022 has been released by the Election Commission of India (ECI). The presidential election will be conducted on 18th July, 2022, with the results being announced on 21st July, 2022. President Ram Nath Kovind’s term will conclude on July 24, 2022. Read this post till the end to know more about the President election 2022 date and other important details related to the presidential election.

President Election Date In India 2022 – Overview

The ECI declared the election dates for the President of India Election 2022 during a press conference. It should be recalled that India’s 2017 presidential elections were held on 17th July 2017, with the result revealed three days later on 20th July 2017. President Ram Nath Kovind’s term will expire on 24th July, 2022, and under Article 62 of the Indian Constitution, a presidential election must be held before the incumbent’s term ends. The President of India is chosen by members of the electoral college, which consists of elected members of both houses of the Indian Parliament, the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha.

Read about Mithali Raj and Her Career 

President Election Date In India 2022 – Check Date & Schedule

The elected members of the legislative houses of all the States and UTs of Delhi, as well as Pondicherry, will participate in the voting for the President Elections in India in 2022. The ECI has stated that voting for the Presidential Elections of 2022 will take place on July 18th, with results being released on July 21st.

Election EventsDates
Last Date for Nomination29th June 2022
Last Date for Scrutiny of Nomination30th June 2022
Last Date for Withdrawal of Candidature2nd July 2022
Date of Election18th July 2022
Counting of Votes21st July 2022
President’s Oath25th July 2022

Attempt World Blood Donor Day Quiz Here

President of India 2022 Election Date – Eligibility For Contesting As Presidential 

Between 11 AM and 3 PM on the stated days, the candidate or any of his proposers or seconders can register a nomination. To qualify for President, a candidate must meet the following eligibility requirements under Article 58 of the Indian Constitution- 

  • Candidate must be an Indian citizen.
  • He/She must be 35 years old.
  • Candidates must be qualified to vote in the Lok Sabha.
  • Must not be employed by the Government of India, the Government of any State, or any local or other authority under the supervision of any of the aforementioned Governments.

Attempt World Ocean Day Quiz 

India President Election 2022 Date – Who Can Vote?

Besides elected members of the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, members of the legislative assembly of all the States and UTs are eligible to vote in the President of India election. Members of the Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha, as well as members of state legislatures, are not eligible to be included in the electoral college. As a result, they are ineligible to vote in the Presidential Election. 

Read About World Day Against Child Labour

President Election Date In India 2022 – Procedure of Vote Counting

The 776 MPs of the Lok Sabha (543) and Rajya Sabha (233), as well as the MLAs of the State Assemblies and the Union Territories of Delhi and Puducherry, make up the electoral college for the Presidential Election. The total number of votes that are casted in the election of President are according to their value, which varies by state to state with an MLA from UP receiving the highest value, followed by Maharashtra and WB.

Read all details about Presidential Elections in India

By whom is the President of India elected?

Please check the “Who Can Vote” section given above in this post.

Who is not eligible to vote in this election?

Nominated members are not eligible to vote in this election.

Who was India’s First President?

Dr. Rajendra Prasad was India’s First President.

Who was the first woman President of this country?

Smt. Pratibha Patil held the position of the first woman President of the country.

What is the term or duration of office for the President of India? 

The President of India holds the office for a period of 5 years as prescribed in the legislation.